Why me?

19 Mar

Hi again,

The inspiration for the post dates back to about two years ago. I walked into staff room in my college for reason that I do not remember now. The table contained a sheet of paper printed about a famous yesteryear tennis athlete called Arthur Ashe. He had been a star player in the 1960’s and the first (so-called African American person,why do they mention this always 😦 ) person to win the US Open Tennis Championship, he won three grand slam titles in his career and he is well known for his participation for social causes.

Arthur Ashe was in the peak of his career when his renowned physique failed him in a cramp in the chest as a heart attack.  He had to undergo continuous treatment and from what I learned from his biography online is that he acquired HIV during a blood transfusion, life is not that fair to everybody. He remarked, “If I were to say, “God, why me?” about the bad things, then I should have said, “God, why me?” about the good things that happened in my life” and this, “Do not feel sorry for me if I am gone”. That was the time I realized that life is not all that impartial, it’s just that one needs to live the moments when the waves roll by. I told my friend once that what I express in my words fill with sadness and pain, she remarked “the happiness in expression lies in the depth of the sadness (சுக ராகம் சோகம் தானே !!), we never know what comes the next minute.

5 Responses to “Why me?”

  1. Raj March 21, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Hi Guhan,

    This story is thought provoking. Repped you

    • admin March 26, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      Thanks bro. Require your comments 🙂

  2. unna March 22, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    “If I were to say, “God, why me?” about the bad things, then I should have said, “God, why me?” about the good things that happened in my life”

    too good.I too have read this before.But very very nice to come across this again….

  3. D.Mahesh Kumar March 25, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Yes we do not know what happen next sec,

    no point in asking why me,

    every tide has its ebb , & every dog has its day,

    take life as it comes,

    enjoying every moment will help reducing regrets,

    If everything happens as we wish nobody will remember god.

    • admin March 26, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      “நினைப்பதெல்லாம் நடந்து விட்டால்…”

Leave a Reply

